Juvenile Information

The Municipal Court has jurisdiction over juveniles (10 to 16 years of age at time of violation) charged with Class C misdemeanor offenses.

Juveniles are required to:
  • Appear in open court for all proceedings regarding their case.  Notices to appear at the initial appearance hearing are mailed to the defendant and parent/legal guardian.  Disregard the date of appearance on the citation.
  • The parent/legal guardian is required to attend court with their child.  Parents/legal guardians who refuse to come to court may be subject to contempt of court.
Juveniles who fail to appear in court:
  • May have an additional charge of “Failure to Appear” filed against them.  
  • Will be reported to the Texas Department of Public Safety, which will suspend or deny issuance of a driver’s license until appearance in court.
Juveniles who disobey a court order:
  • May be found in contempt and assessed a fine not to exceed $500.
  • Reported to the Texas Department of Public Safety, which will suspend or deny issuance of a driver’s license until paid.  

Parents/Legal Guardians – Notification of Address Change

 
WARNING:  A child and parent/legal guardian required to appear before the court have an obligation to provide the court in writing the current address and residence of the child.  The obligation does not end when the child reaches age 17.  On or before the seventh day after the date the child or parent.legal guardian changes residence, the child or parent shall notify the court of the current address in the manner directed by the court.

A violation of this subsection may result in arrest and is a class C misdemeanor.  The obligation to provide notice terminates on discharge and satisfaction of the judgment or final disposition not requiring a finding of guilt.

ADVERTENCIA:  Un joven y padre que tenido que presentarse en Corte tiene la obligación no termina cuando el joven cumpla 17 años de edad.  Antes o en el séptimo dia después que el joven o padre cambie residencia, el joven o padre tiene que dar noticia a la Corte de la residencia corriente enla manera dirigidia por la Corte.

Violación de este subseccion puede resultar en arresto y es una ofensa class C menor.  La obligación de proveer noticia termina después que quede satisfecho o despedido el juicio o disposición final donde no se requiere un resultado de culpable.

Alcohol Offenses

Consumption, Possession, Purchase, Misrepresentation of age, Driving under the influence
 
If you are under the age of 21 at the time of the offense and this is your first offense, you are required to:
  • Attend a 6 hour alcohol awareness class within 90 days and submit proof.
  • Complete 8-12 hours of alcohol-related community service within 90 days and submit proof.
These violations require a mandatory court appearance.  Juveniles under the age of 17 at the time of the offense are required by law to appear before the judge in person with a parent/legal guardian.
If you fail to attend the alcohol awareness class or complete the required community service hours, your driver’s license will be suspended or denied issuance, if you do not have one, for a period of 180 days.
 

Tobacco and E-Cigarette Offenses

Possession, Purchase, Misrepresentation of age
 
If you are under the age of 21 and born after August 31, 2001, at the time of the offense, you are required to:
  • Attend an 8 hour tobacco awareness class within 90 days and submit proof.
        OR
  • Complete 12 hour tobacco-related essay project with The Volunteer Center within 90 days and submit proof.  This option is only available for first-time tobacco offenses.
These violations require a mandatory court appearance.  Juveniles under the age of 17 at the time of the offense are required by law to appear before the judge in person with a parent/legal guardian.
If you fail to complete either the class or essay project, your driver’s license will be suspended or denied issuance, if you do not have one, for a period of 180 days.

 

Expunction of Records

Convictions from this court are criminal convictions.  You may be entitled to an expunction of the records pertaining to your case.
  • Alcohol violations – for a single conviction, you may petition this court for an expunction after your 21st birthday.
  • Tobacco violations – you may petition this court for expunction after your 21st birthday.
  • Education Code violations – for a single conviction, you may petition this court for an expunction after your 18th birthday.
  • Penal Code or Penal Ordinance violations – for a single conviction of any other non-traffic violation, you may petition this Court for expunction after your 17th birthday.

In order to request an expunction, fill out the Application for Expunction and submit in the Court Clerk’s office.  There is a non-refundable fee of $30 that will be due at the time you file the application. Please read the application to determine if you are eligible to request an expunction prior to filing.