2015 Local Legend Award nominations due June 12

Nominate Round Rock's next Local Legends

Nominations for the City’s 2015 Local Legend awards are being accepted through June 12.

LLposter-2015The Local Legend award program was established in 1990 to recognize individuals, families, businesses, groups, publications, and organizations that have had a positive and lasting impact on the culture, development, and history of Round Rock. Anyone can nominate an individual or group for the award.

Local Legends will be selected based on the following criteria: importance to the City’s founding or growth; association with an historic place or event; impact of service to the community’s history, development or culture; and/or achievements that have brought honor and distinction to the City of Round Rock.

Previous Local Legends have included Principal Joe Lee Johnson, The Domino Players, Postmaster Thomas Oatts, and the Lone Star Bakery. The 2014 Local Legends were longtime resident Lambert Peterson, former Parks Director Sharon Prete, Sheriff James Milton Tucker (1843-1907), and the Texas Baptist Children’s Home.

Local Legends are selected by the Historic Preservation Commission. The Commission is assisted by a citizen volunteer committee, which will review and recommend nominations. The Legends receive a certificate and are honored by the City Council.

If you would like to nominate someone to be honored as a Local Legend, nomination forms are available at www.roundrocktexas.gov/locallegend.

Nomination forms may be sent via email to locallegend@roundrocktexas.gov or by postal mail to:

Local Legend Award Nominations
The Historic Preservation Commission
c/o Planning and Development Services Department
301 W. Bagdad Avenue, Suite 210
Round Rock, TX 78664

For more information, contact Joelle Jordan, Planning and Development Services Department, at 512-218-5422

Share thisShare on Facebook
Tweet about this on Twitter