book club

RRPL Book Group for Adults

The Round Rock Public Library Book Group meets from 6 to 7:30 p.m. the second Tuesday of each month. The group meets in Meeting Room B.

Join us in August as we discuss Good as Gone by Amy Gentry.

Upcoming books of discussion

  • September—Manhattan Beach by Jennifer Egan
  • October—Pachinko by Min Jin Lee
  • November—The Tattooist of Auschwitz by Heather Morris
  • December—NO Book; End of the Year celebration/recap
  • January—The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper by Phaedra Patrick

For more information

Contact Julie Chapa, 512-218-7014.

Tween Book Club (ages 9-12): You choose the books!

The Round Rock Public Library is hosting a Tween Book Club at 4:30 pm on Thursday, August 1, 2019. Join us to help choose books for the fall 2019 tween book clubs.

Tweens, ages 9-12, may nominate two book selections they would like the club to read. Participants will vote on nominated selections.

Snacks will be served.

For more information contact Amy German at 512-218-7034.  

Please Note: While book club selections are chosen specifically for tweens ages 9-12, parents may still wish to review the content for appropriateness for their child.

Teen Book Club and author visit with Joe Shine (ages 12-18): Bobby Sky: Boy Band Or Die

Join us in meeting room B at 6:30 PM, July 16, to meet Joe Shine and discuss his new book, Bobby Sky: Boy Band Or Die

Please Note:While book club selections are chosen specifically for teens ages 12-18, parents may still wish to review the content for appropriateness for their child/teen.

Questions? Contact the Children’s Reference Desk, 512.218.3275

RRPL Book Group for Adults

The Round Rock Public Library Book Group meets from 6 to 7:30 p.m. the second Tuesday of each month. The group will meet in the Large Group Study Room, 2nd floor of the Library.

As part of the Texas State Library and Archives Commission’s Read Across Texas program, we will discuss Tattoos on the Heart: The Power of Boundless Compassion by Gregory Boyle. This year’s Read Across Texas theme is Cultivating Communities of Compassion: Know Your Neighbor.

Upcoming books of discussion

  • August—Good as Gone by Amy Gentry
  • September—Manhattan Beach by Jennifer Egan
  • October—Pachinko by Min Jin Lee
  • November—The Tattooist of Auschwitz by Heather Morris
  • December—NO Book; End of the Year celebration/recap
  • January—The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper by Phaedra Patrick

For more information

Contact Julie Chapa, 512-218-7014.

Teen Book Club and author visit with PJ Hoover (ages 12-18): A Broken Truce

Join us in meeting room A at 6:30 PM, June 18, to meet P J Hoover and discuss her new book, A Broken Truce (Game Of The Gods, Book 1). This book is perfect for fans of Warcross, the Maze Runner and Ready Player One.

Please Note:While book club selections are chosen specifically for teens ages 12-18, parents may still wish to review the content for appropriateness for their child/teen.

Questions? Contact the Children’s Reference Desk, 512.218.3275

 

Tween Book Club (ages 8-12): THE SWORD OF SUMMER by Rick Riordan

The Round Rock Public Library will host a Tween Book Club meeting Thursday, June 13, 2019.  Tweens (ages 8-12) are invited to the Library to discuss the book The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan.  Join us in Meeting Room B at 4:30 pm. Snacks and book themed games/crafts will be provided.

For more information or to request a copy of this month’s book:

Please contact the children’s desk, 512.218.3575.

Please Note:

The Round Rock Public Library Tween Book Club meets the second Thursday of every month. While book club selections are chosen specifically for tweens ages 8-12, parents may still wish to review the content for appropriateness for his/her child.

RRPL Book Group for Adults

The Round Rock Public Library Book Group meets from 6 to 7:30 p.m. the second Tuesday of each month. The group will meet in Meeting Room A.

In June, we will discuss There, There by Tommy Orange.

Upcoming books of discussion

  • July—Tattoos on the Heart: The Power of Boundless Compassion by Gregory Boyle
  • August—Good as Gone by Amy Gentry
  • September—Manhattan Beach by Jennifer Egan
  • October—Pachinko by Min Jin Lee
  • November—The Tattooist of Auschwitz by Heather Morris
  • December—NO Book; End of the Year celebration/recap
  • January—The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper by Phaedra Patrick

For more information

Contact Julie Chapa, 512-218-7014.

Teen Book Club (ages 12-18): Black Dove White Raven

The Round Rock Public Library Teen Book Club meets the third Tuesday of every month. Join us in The Teen Room at 6:30 PM, April 23.

2019 Teen Book Club Selections (selected by teens at the November 2018 book club)

Please Note:While book club selections are chosen specifically for teens ages 12-18, parents may still wish to review the content for appropriateness for their child/teen.

For More Information:

Contact Jane Dance at 512.218.7012

RRPL Book Group for Adults

The Round Rock Public Library Book Group meets from 6 to 7:30 p.m. the second Tuesday of each month. The group meets in Meeting Room B.

In May, we will have a character discussion on Alexander Hamilton. Read any book (fiction or non-fiction) that features Hamilton as a character.

For more information

Contact Julie Chapa, 512-218-7014.

Tween Book Club (ages 9-12): AL CAPONE DOES MY SHIRTS by Gennifer Choldenko

The Round Rock Public Library will host a Tween Book Club meeting Thursday, May 9, 2019.  Tweens (ages 9-12) are invited to the Library to discuss the Tweens (ages 9-12) are invited to the Library to discuss the book AL CAPONE DOES MY SHIRTS by Gennifer Choldenko.  Join us in Meeting Room A at 4:30 pm. Snacks and book themed games/crafts will be provided.

For more information or to request a copy of this month’s book:

Please contact Amy German, 512.218.7034.

Please Note:

The Round Rock Public Library Tween Book Club meets the second Thursday of every month. While book club selections are chosen specifically for tweens ages 9-12, parents may still wish to review the content for appropriateness for his/her child.