Mayor McGraw announces he will not seek re-election

Three City Council seats will be up for election in May

Mayor Alan McGraw formally announced Jan. 13 he will not be seeking a fourth term as Mayor in this May’s City Council elections. McGraw was elected to his first term as Mayor in May 2008 and was sworn in to his third term in May 2014. Prior to his election, McGraw served on the City Council for seven years, four of those years as Mayor Pro-Tem.

There will be three seats up for election on May 6: Mayor, Place 1 and Place 4.

“My wife and I have been struggling with this decision for some time,” McGraw said. “But in the end, after 16 years of service, it’s the right time for our family and for the City.”

Throughout McGraw’s term on the Council, the City has been repeatedly recognized for its record on safety, for being a great place to raise a family and for its economic success. Property taxes and utility rates have remained among the lowest in the region.

“I’ve had the privilege of serving with 22 councilmembers and mayors, all of whom were devoted to making Round Rock a better place,” McGraw said. “And I’ve had the privilege to work with an amazing staff, constantly looking for better ways to deliver services to the citizens. Everything we did, we did together, working as a team.

“But most of all, I’ve had the distinct honor of serving a wonderful group of citizens who love their city.”

The first day for candidates to file for a place on the ballot is Wednesday, Jan. 18. The filing period ends at 5 p.m. Friday, Feb. 17.

Early voting by personal appearance starts on Monday, April 24, and ends on Tuesday, May 2.

The last day to register to vote is April 6.

Share thisShare on Facebook
Tweet about this on Twitter