Unofficial results: Morgan, Ly, Ortega win election to City Council

Incumbents Craig Morgan, Michelle Ly and Frank Ortega were elected to Round Rock City Council Saturday evening, according to unofficial results from the Williamson and Travis County Elections offices. Two general obligation (GO) bonds on the ballot were also approved by voters.

Ly defeated Shannon Probe for Place 1, while Ortega won over Greg Rabaey for Place 4. Mayor Craig Morgan ran unopposed for re-election.

The 2023 GO Bond package included two propositions:

Proposition A included parks, recreation and sports and and totaled $230 million in bond funding for the construction of hike/bike trails, a remodel of the Clay Madsen Recreation Center, improvements to the Play for All Park, construction of a new park on Brushy Creek in Downtown Round Rock and an expansion of the Sports Center. It would also provide funding for several active amenities within Old Settlers Park, including a new recreation center, a new Lakeview Pavilion, additions to Rock’N River, an expansion of the Multipurpose Complex and replacement tennis courts, as well as systemwide infrastructure throughout the park. 

Proposition B included public safety and totaled $44 million in bond funding for the expansion of the Public Safety Training Center, including new classrooms and a driving track, as well as the relocation of Central Fire Station and two new stations on the north side of Round Rock. 

More information about the City of Round Rock’s 2023 GO Bond program is available at

The votes will be official after being canvassed by the City Council. A swearing in ceremony is expected to be scheduled for later this month.

For more information about election results, visit the websites for Williamson County Elections or Travis County Elections.




Round Rock’s digital newsletter providing residents news, events and general information regarding city government.

Scroll to Top