New Single Family Construction

ON THIS PAGE

ON THIS PAGE

Do not submit a Building Permit Packet until a Substantial Completion Letter for the Site Development Permit (SDP) has been issued by the Planning & Development Department. For questions, call 512-218-5428

What to include with your application

Email submittals to buildingpermits@roundrocktexas.gov.  Contact Building Inspections staff at 512-218-5550 if you have any questions.

  • Building Permit application (pdf) including description of work to be performed. Include section and phase.
  • Contractor Information Sheets (pdf) for general contractor and subcontractors. Electrical, plumbing  and mechanical contractors must be licensed with the State of Texas.
    Not required with submittal but must be received before the permit can be released.
  • One complete set of construction plans and engineered foundation plan – digital format
  • 2015 ResCheck 
  • Executed and notarized Escrow Agreement (pdf) for all applicable permit fees (see below)

Review process

Review time for new single-family permits is currently 7 to 10 business days. We do not offer expedited review service. 

After your application is received it will be reviewed by the Residential Plans Examiner. The reviewer will email comments to the contact person identified on the application (usually the builder) and responses should be emailed back to the Residential Plans Examiner at buildingpermits@roundrocktexas.gov  

Once the review is complete and all comments are adequately addressed, you will receive an email from the office staff informing you that the permit has been issued. A copy of the permit and review notes can be obtained by using eTRAKiT.

Instructions for eTRAKiT will be provided at the time of first permit packet submittal unless you are an established builder. 

For a list of residential inspections, please refer to our Residential Guide. Please note that this list is only a guide and inspections may vary depending on the scope of work.

Inspection process

  • Inspections must be requested on eTRAKiT before 4 p.m. for next business day.
  • Inspections are conducted Monday through Friday, from 7:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.
  • Two inspections of the same type are included in the permit fee. After the second failed inspection of the same type, a $50 re-inspection fee will be assessed for each additional inspection and must be paid before scheduling the final inspection.

Certificate of Occupancy

Passing the final inspection serves as the Certificate of Occupancy for single-family residential structures. You can download a copy of the inspection report using eTRAKiT.

Notes

Mark Remmert, Chief Building Official 512-218-5550  markr@roundrocktexas.gov
Gary Lawrence, Asst. Building Official 512-845-5946  glawrence@roundrocktexas.gov

Intake staff:  512-218-5550 buildingpermits@roundrocktexas.gov
Isabella Morales 512-218-5551  imorales@roundrocktexas.gov
Jennifer Esparza 512-671-2889 jennifer.esparza@roundrocktexas.gov

Plan Review:
Commercial: Alice Guajardo 512-671-2763  aguajardo@roundrocktexas.gov
Residential: Jorge Scott 512-218-7029  jscott@roundrocktexas.gov

Commercial Inspectors:
Joey Swofford, Chief Commercial Inspector 512-845-4494  jswofford@roundrocktexas.gov
Doug Day 512-845-5947  dday@roundrocktexas.gov
Bryan Fails 512-845-6249  bfails@roundrocktexas.gov
James Shine 512-470-9543  jshine@roundrocktexas.gov
Jimmy Spencer 512-470-9507  jimmy.spencer@roundrocktexas.gov

Residential Inspectors:
Tim Minier, Chief Residential Inspector 512-845-6248  tminier@roundrocktexas.gov
Fernando Abadiano 512-568-7829  fabadiano@roundrocktexas.gov
Paul Moran 512-688-9024  pmoran@roundrocktexas.gov
Alex Rodriguez 512-470-9429  alejandro.rodriguez@roundrocktexas.gov
Marc Schmidt 512-563-9398  mschmidt@roundrocktexas.gov

Civil Inspectors
Matt Krueger, Chief Civil Inspector 512-748-9092  mkruegger@roundrocktexas.gov
Chris Cervenka 512-639-6760  ccervenka@roundrocktexas.gov
George Grondin 512-639-9497  ggrondin@roundrocktexas.gov
Joseph Leon 512-230-4887  rleon@roundrocktexas.gov
Michael Rockett 512-638-2552  mrockett@roundrocktexas.gov

Email submittals to buildingpermits@roundrocktexas.gov.  Contact Building Inspections staff at 512-218-5550 if you have any questions.

What to submit
  • Building Permit application
  • Site plan showing the job trailer with all required setbacks being met.
  • $35 permit fee that can be taken from escrow or paid via check, cash, or credit card
  • Permit fee / application does not include any utilities.

Permit will be issued within 24-48 hours of submission. You will receive an email from the office staff informing you that the permit(s) has been issued. A copy of the permit and review notes can be obtained by using eTRAKiT.

Email submittals to buildingpermits@roundrocktexas.gov.  Contact Building Inspections staff at 512-218-5550 if you have any questions.

What to submit
  • Building Permit application
  • $35 permit fee that can be taken from escrow or paid via check, cash, or credit card

Permit will be issued within 24-48 hours of submission. You will receive an email from the office staff informing you that the permit(s) has been issued. A copy of the permit and review notes can be obtained by using eTRAKiT.

Instructions for eTRAKiT will be provided at the time of first permit packet submittal unless you are an established builder.

New Single Family Fees

Permit and Utility Fees

  • Building Permit Fee:  $285
  • Water Meter Fee:  $234
  • Water/Sewer Line Fee:  $200

Roadway Impact Fees

The City Council approved a Roadway Impact Fee ordinance that took effect on Jan. 1, 2020. The fee is being phased in over time according to when the project’s final plat is issued. Refer to the Roadway Impact Fee page for more information.

Impact Fees

Calculations for Impact Fees due are based on the size of the water meter and the Living Unit Equivalents (LUEs) associated with the water meter.  The following table represents water meter sizes and their respective LUEs:

Water Meter Size

5/8”

3/4”

1”

1.5”

2”

3”

4”

6”

8”

10”

LUE

1

1.5

2.5

5

8

16

25

50

80

115

For Plats Recorded after February 1, 2021:
  • Water Impact Fee $4,234 per LUE
  • Wastewater Impact Fee $1,799 per LUE
For Plats Recorded between March 1, 2016 and January 31, 2021
  • Water Impact Fee $4,025 per LUE
  • Wastewater Impact Fee $2,099 per LUE
For Plats Recorded between August 1, 2012 and February 29, 2016
  • Water Impact Fee $3,889 per LUE
  • Sewer Impact Fee $2,073 per LUE
For Plats Recorded between January 1, 2009 and July 31, 2012
  • Water Impact Fee $4446.00 per LUE
  • Sewer Impact Fee $2383.00 per LUE
For Plats Recorded between January 1, 2005 and December 31, 2008
  • Water Impact Fee $4296.00 per LUE
  • Sewer Impact Fee $1306.00 per LUE
For Plats Recorded before January 1, 2005
  • Water Impact Fee $2910.00 per LUE
  • Sewer Impact Fee $1059.00 per LUE
Not sure when the plat for your property was recorded? Call the PDS front desk at 512-218-5428.
Scroll to Top