Commercial Remodel

ON THIS PAGE

ON THIS PAGE

Building permitting procedures for projects under commercial building codes (including multifamily structures of over 3 levels). Use this procedure for Commercial Remodel, Additions, Finish Outs, and Tenant Improvements.

How to submit a Building Permit Packet

Bring or send submittals to the Building Inspections counter at 301 W. Bagdad Ave. Suite 100, Round Rock, Texas 78664. Contact Building Inspections staff at 512-218-5550 or buildingpermits@roundrocktexas.gov if you have questions. 

What to submit

  • A completed Building Permit Application (pdf) including description of work to be performed
  • Contractor Information Sheets (pdf) for general contractor and subcontractors. Electrical, plumbing and mechanical contractors must be licensed with the State of Texas.
    Not required at time of submittal but must be received before the permit can be released.
  • One complete set of construction plans – paper (18×24 or 24×36)
  • One complete set of construction plans – pdf format (via email, thumb drive, CD)
  • 2015 ComCheck 
  • Payment (check only)
Notes:
  • Plans for buildings over 5,000 sf must have an engineer’s stamp and signature
  • For commercial projects valued over $50,000 a Texas Department of License and Regulation (TDLR) project number is required. Contact the TDLR Architectural Barriers Section at 1-877-278-0999 for registry information.
  • An asbestos survey is required if walls are to be removed from a building built before 1980.
  • Electrical, plumbing and mechanical contractors must be licensed with the State of Texas.
  • You can begin demoing once the permit packet has been submitted.

Review Process

Review time varies depending on the complexity of the project and the completeness of the submittal. The average turnaround time from submittal to permit is currently 6-8 weeks. We do not offer expedited service. 

After your application is received it will be distributed to all applicable review staff. The reviewers will email their comments directly to the primary contact identified on the application (usually the architect). Responses should be emailed back to the reviewer.

When the review is complete and all comments have been adequately addressed, the permit will be issued and staff will contact the general contractor to schedule a time to pick of the building permit, review notes and go over the red lines with the Building Official.

Inspection Process

  • Instructions for scheduling inspections using eTRAKIT will be included with the building permit. Inspections must be requested before 4 p.m. for next business day.
  • Inspections are conducted Monday through Friday, from 7:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.
  • Utility authorizations will be released as the final utility inspections are completed.

Certificate of Occupancy

The Certificate of Occupancy will be issued once the project passes a fire final, all MEP finals and a final building inspection.

Notes

Mark Remmert, Chief Building Official 512-218-5550  markr@roundrocktexas.gov
Gary Lawrence, Asst. Building Official 512-845-5946  glawrence@roundrocktexas.gov

Intake staff:  512-218-5550 buildingpermits@roundrocktexas.gov
Isabella Morales 512-218-5551  imorales@roundrocktexas.gov
Jennifer Esparza 512-671-2889 jennifer.esparza@roundrocktexas.gov

Plan Review:
Commercial: Alice Guajardo 512-671-2763  aguajardo@roundrocktexas.gov
Residential: Jorge Scott 512-218-7029  jscott@roundrocktexas.gov

Commercial Inspectors:
Joey Swofford, Chief Commercial Inspector 512-845-4494  jswofford@roundrocktexas.gov
Doug Day 512-845-5947  dday@roundrocktexas.gov
Bryan Fails 512-845-6249  bfails@roundrocktexas.gov
James Shine 512-470-9543  jshine@roundrocktexas.gov
Jimmy Spencer 512-470-9507  jimmy.spencer@roundrocktexas.gov

Residential Inspectors:
Tim Minier, Chief Residential Inspector 512-845-6248  tminier@roundrocktexas.gov
Fernando Abadiano 512-568-7829  fabadiano@roundrocktexas.gov
Paul Moran 512-688-9024  pmoran@roundrocktexas.gov
Alex Rodriguez 512-470-9429  alejandro.rodriguez@roundrocktexas.gov
Marc Schmidt 512-563-9398  mschmidt@roundrocktexas.gov

Civil Inspectors
Matt Krueger, Chief Civil Inspector 512-748-9092  mkruegger@roundrocktexas.gov
Chris Cervenka 512-639-6760  ccervenka@roundrocktexas.gov
George Grondin 512-639-9497  ggrondin@roundrocktexas.gov
Joseph Leon 512-230-4887  rleon@roundrocktexas.gov
Michael Rockett 512-638-2552  mrockett@roundrocktexas.gov

Refer to the Sign Permits page for application information. Bring/send sign permit applications to the Building Inspections window or email to buildingpermits@roundrocktexas.gov.

The Williamson County and Cities Health District (WCCHD) also must review plans for any projects involving food service (including restaurants, bars, food trucks, convenience stores, day care facilities, etc.). The food establishment permit application and food establishment plan review application forms are posted on the WCCHD website with application instructions.

Certificates of Appropriateness are Required Prior to Issuance of a Building Permit.

Properties required to undergo historic review are identified with Historic Overlay Zoning. Alterations to all structures or sites with Historic Overlay Zoning require a Certificate of Appropriateness prior to the issuance of a building permit. Historic review applies to all structures on a site, including fences and accessory structures.

Preservation staff are available to discuss projects on all historic-age properties (even those without historic overlay zoning) and can provide technical references that are available to help avoid damage. Contact the Planning and Development Services desk at 512-218-5428 to discuss alterations to a historic property and/or the Certificate of Appropriateness process.

Commercial Remodel/Finish-Out/Tenant Improvement Fees

The following fee schedule shows the amount due at time of submittal for permits.

Project valuation
Permit fee
Fire inspection fee
Base fee
Per additional $1,000 or fraction thereof
Base fee
Per additional $1,000 or fraction thereof

Up to $2,000

$35

n/a

$15

n/a

$2,001 – $15,000

$35 for first $2,000

$7

$25 for first $2,000

$1.50

$15,001 – $50,000

$125 for first $15,000

$4

$50 for first $15,000

$1.25

$50,001 – $100,000

$260 for first $50,000

$3

$100 for first $50,000

$1.00

$100,000 – $500,000

$400 for first $100,000

$2

$150 for first $100,000

$0.65

$500,000 and up

$1200 for first $500,000

$1

$500 for first $500,000

$0.35

Scroll to Top