Single Family Remodel

ON THIS PAGE

ON THIS PAGE

Building permitting procedures for projects under residential building codes up to 3 stories. Structural modifications (e.g. wall removal) require an engineered design.

This page is intended for General Contractors. If you are a homeowner, please refer to the Homeowner Projects page for information.

How to apply for a permit and what to submit:

Kindly note that Round Rock has a strict one-permit system in place. To avoid any delays in your project, it is essential to add the general contractor and relevant sub-contractors to your application. They need to confirm their involvement in the project through their Round Rock Permit Portal account to be included in a permit. Although their confirmation is not mandatory at the time of application submittal, it will be required before permit issuance.

Under the one-permit system, the permit becomes invalid if the authorized work or construction is not commenced within six months.

Create an account and/or log in to our Permit Portal (online permitting software) at https://permits.roundrocktexas.gov.

Below is how to apply: 
  • Click Create New Application on the top right-hand corner of the dashboard –> New Application –> Add Project Name –> Building Inspection Services –> Residential Building Permits –> Single Family –> Addition/Remodel/Repair
  • Scroll to the bottom of the page and click Next
Be prepared to submit the following:
  • One (1) complete set of construction plans which must include any structural, mechanical, electrical, and or plumbing changes.
  • Structural modifications (e.g., wall removal) require an engineered design.
  • Permit Fee $500.00
  • We accept E-check, Visa, and Mastercard via the payment portal
  • You can begin demoing once the permit application and plans have been submitted.

Review process

  • Estimated turnaround time for the review of a single-family permit is 20 business days from the date of application acceptance. Expedited review is not available
  • You will be able to track the review status, as well as submit any responses or revisions, via the permit portal.
  • Once all comments are addressed, the permit will be issued. 
  • For a list of residential inspections, please refer to our Residential Guide. Please note that this list is only a guide and inspections may vary depending on the scope of work.

Inspection process

  • Inspections must be requested by 4 p.m. for the following business day, but availability is not guaranteed.
  • Inspections are conducted Monday through Friday, from 8:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
  • Two inspections of the same type are included in the permit fee. After the second failed inspection of the same type, a $75 re-inspection fee will be assessed for each additional inspection and must be paid before scheduling the final inspection.
  • We offer a one-time free consultation. Additional consultations are $75.00.

Notes

Inspection Services Division Office
512-218-5550 – Office Hours: 7:00 am – 4:00 pm

James Shine, Building Official 512-218-5550  jshine@roundrocktexas.gov
Jorge Scott, Assistant Building Official 512-218-5550 

Intake Staff:  512-218-5550 
Isabella Morales, Commercial Development Technician 512-218-5551  imorales@roundrocktexas.gov
Jennifer Esparza, Residential Development Technician 512-671-2889 jesparza@roundrocktexas.gov

Building Plan Examiners:
Commercial: Walter Holbert, 512-671-2763  wholbert@roundrocktexas.gov
Residential: Jorge Scott ABO, 512-218-5550

Commercial Inspectors:
Bryan Fails, Chief Plumbing Inspector 512-845-6249  bfails@roundrocktexas.gov
Jimmy Spencer, Chief Electrical Inspector 512-470-9507  jimmyspencer@roundrocktexas.gov
Amos Harrison, Chief Structural Inspector 512-639-0218  aharrison@roundrocktexas.gov
Josh Patterson, 737-320-9127 josh.patterson@roundrocktexas.gov
Michael Burt, 737-235-0455 mburt@roundrocktexas.gov

Residential Inspectors:
Alex Rodriguez, Chief Residential Inspector 512-639-3005  arodriguez@roundrocktexas.gov
Ferdinand Abadiano, 512-568-7829  fabadiano@roundrocktexas.gov
Joshua Gonzales, 512-639-3050  jgonzales@roundrocktexas.gov 
Paul Moran, 512-688-9024  pmoran@roundrocktexas.gov 
Lance Musslewhite, 737-340-7822  lmusslewhite@roundrocktexas.gov 

Civil Inspectors
Matt Krueger, Chief Civil Inspector 512-748-9092  mkruegger@roundrocktexas.gov
Chris Cervenka, 512-639-6760  ccervenka@roundrocktexas.gov
Mike Dekeyrel, 512-673-8704  mdekeyrel@roundrocktexas.gov   
George Grondin, 512-639-9497  ggrondin@roundrocktexas.gov
Lane Imken, 512-647-0807  linken@roundrocktexas.gov   
Riley Pekar, 737-349-53396  rpekar@roundrocktexas.gov

Please contact the Building Inspections Department at 512-218-5550.

Certificates of Appropriateness are Required Prior to Issuance of a Building Permit.

Properties required to undergo historic review are identified with Historic Overlay Zoning. Alterations to all structures or sites with Historic Overlay Zoning require a Certificate of Appropriateness before the issuance of a building permit. Historic review applies to all structures on a site, including fences and accessory structures.

Preservation staff are available to discuss projects on all historic-age properties (even those without historic overlay zoning) and can provide technical references that are available to help avoid damage. Contact the Planning and Development Services desk at 512-218-5428 to discuss alterations to a historic property and/or the Certificate of Appropriateness process.

The Williamson County and Cities Health District (WCCHD) also must review plans for any projects involving food service (including restaurants, bars, food trucks, convenience stores, daycare facilities, etc.). The food establishment permit application and food establishment plan review application forms are posted on the WCCHD website with application instructions.

Gas (ATMOS) : 1-888-460-3030

Electricity (ONCOR): 1-866-797-4839

Water Utility Billing (CORR): 512-218-5460

Scroll to Top