Single Family Remodel

ON THIS PAGE

ON THIS PAGE

Building permitting procedures for projects under residential building codes up to 3 stories. Structural modifications (e.g. wall removal) require an engineered design.

How to submit a Building Permit application

Email submissions to buildingpermits@roundrocktexas.gov or drop off at 301 W Bagdad Ave, Ste 100, Round Rock, Texas 78664. Contact Building Inspections staff at 512-218-5550 if you have any questions.

Include in submittal:
  • A completed Building Permit Application (pdf) including description of work to be performed
  • Contractor Information Sheets (pdf) for general contractor and subcontractors. Electrical, plumbing  and mechanical contractors must be licensed with the State of Texas.
    Not required with submittal but must be received before the permit can be released.
  • One complete set of construction plans which include any structural, mechanical, electrical and or plumbing changes.
  • Structural modifications (e.g. wall removal) require an engineered design.
  • Permit Fee (Cash, Check or Credit Card -$1000 permit fee limit)
Note:
  • An asbestos survey is required if walls are to be removed from a building built before 1980.

Review process

Review time varies depending on the complexity of the project and the completeness of the submittal. The average review time is currently 7 to 10 business days. We do not offer expedited service. 

After your application is received it will be reviewed by the Residential Plans Examiner. The reviewer will email comments to the contact person identified on the application (usually the general contractor) and responses should be emailed back to the Residential Plans Examiner at buildingpermits@roundrocktexas.gov 

Once the review is complete and all comments are adequately addressed, you will receive an email from the office staff informing you that the permit has been issued. A copy of the permit and review notes can be obtained by using eTRAKiT.

Instructions for eTRAKiT will be provided at the time of permit packet submittal unless you are already a registered General Contractor.

For a list of residential inspections, please refer to our Residential Guide. Please note that this list is only a guide and inspections may vary depending on the scope of work.

Inspection process

  • Inspections must be requested on eTRAKiT before 4 p.m. for next business day.
  • Inspections are conducted Monday through Friday, from 7:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.
  • Two inspections of the same type are included in the permit fee. After the second failed inspection of the same type, a $50 re-inspection fee will be assessed for each additional inspection and must be paid before scheduling the final inspection.

Notes

Mark Remmert, Chief Building Official 512-218-5550  markr@roundrocktexas.gov
Gary Lawrence, Asst. Building Official 512-845-5946  glawrence@roundrocktexas.gov

Intake staff:  512-218-5550 buildingpermits@roundrocktexas.gov
Isabella Morales 512-218-5551  imorales@roundrocktexas.gov
Jennifer Esparza 512-671-2889 jennifer.esparza@roundrocktexas.gov

Plan Review:
Commercial: Alice Guajardo 512-671-2763  aguajardo@roundrocktexas.gov
Residential: Jorge Scott 512-218-7029  jscott@roundrocktexas.gov

Commercial Inspectors:
Joey Swofford, Chief Commercial Inspector 512-845-4494  jswofford@roundrocktexas.gov
Doug Day 512-845-5947  dday@roundrocktexas.gov
Bryan Fails 512-845-6249  bfails@roundrocktexas.gov
James Shine 512-470-9543  jshine@roundrocktexas.gov
Jimmy Spencer 512-470-9507  jimmy.spencer@roundrocktexas.gov

Residential Inspectors:
Tim Minier, Chief Residential Inspector 512-845-6248  tminier@roundrocktexas.gov
Fernando Abadiano 512-568-7829  fabadiano@roundrocktexas.gov
Paul Moran 512-688-9024  pmoran@roundrocktexas.gov
Alex Rodriguez 512-470-9429  alejandro.rodriguez@roundrocktexas.gov
Marc Schmidt 512-563-9398  mschmidt@roundrocktexas.gov

Civil Inspectors
Matt Krueger, Chief Civil Inspector 512-748-9092  mkruegger@roundrocktexas.gov
Chris Cervenka 512-639-6760  ccervenka@roundrocktexas.gov
George Grondin 512-639-9497  ggrondin@roundrocktexas.gov
Joseph Leon 512-230-4887  rleon@roundrocktexas.gov
Michael Rockett 512-638-2552  mrockett@roundrocktexas.gov

Please contact the Building Inspections Department at 512-218-5550.

Certificates of Appropriateness are Required Prior to Issuance of a Building Permit.

Properties required to undergo historic review are identified with Historic Overlay Zoning. Alterations to all structures or sites with Historic Overlay Zoning require a Certificate of Appropriateness prior to the issuance of a building permit. Historic review applies to all structures on a site, including fences and accessory structures.

Preservation staff are available to discuss projects on all historic-age properties (even those without historic overlay zoning) and can provide technical references that are available to help avoid damage. Contact the Planning and Development Services desk at 512-218-5428 to discuss alterations to a historic property and/or the Certificate of Appropriateness process.

Fees

The following fee schedule shows the amount due at time of submittal for permits.

Project valuation
Permit fee
Base fee
Per additional $1,000 or fraction thereof

Up to $2,000

$35

n/a

$2,001 – $15,000

$35 for first $2,000

$7

$15,001 – $50,000

$125 for first $15,000

$4

$50,001 – $100,000

$260 for first $50,000

$3

$100,000 – $500,000

$400 for first $100,000

$2

$500,000 and up

$1200 for first $500,000

$1

Scroll to Top