Standalone Building Permits

ON THIS PAGE

ON THIS PAGE

This page is intended for General Contractors. If you are a homeowner, please refer to the Homeowner page for information.

Standalone Permits

Permits not part of a larger project such as a remodel or new build.

How to submit a Building Permit Application:

Email submissions to buildingpermits@roundrocktexas.gov or drop off at 301 W Bagdad Ave, Ste 100, Round Rock, Texas 78664. Contact Building Inspections staff at 512-218-5550 if you have any questions

What to submit:
Review process:

Permit will be issued within 24-48 hours. Staff will call the applicant to inform them that the permit has been issued and they can obtain a copy at our office, or a copy can be emailed directly to them. Instructions for scheduling inspections through eTRAKIT will be provided unless you are already a registered General Contractor with the City of Round Rock.

Inspection process:

Inspections must be requested by calling our office before 4 p.m. for next business day.

Inspections are conducted Monday through Friday, from 7:30 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.

Two inspections of the same type are included in the permit fee. After the second failed inspection of the same type, a $50 re-inspection fee will be assessed for each additional inspection and must be paid before scheduling the final inspection.

Notes

Mark Remmert, Chief Building Official 512-218-5550  markr@roundrocktexas.gov
Gary Lawrence, Asst. Building Official 512-845-5946  glawrence@roundrocktexas.gov

Intake staff:  512-218-5550 buildingpermits@roundrocktexas.gov
Isabella Morales 512-218-5551  imorales@roundrocktexas.gov
Jennifer Esparza 512-671-2889 jennifer.esparza@roundrocktexas.gov

Plan Review:
Commercial: Alice Guajardo 512-671-2763  aguajardo@roundrocktexas.gov
Residential: Jorge Scott 512-218-7029  jscott@roundrocktexas.gov

Commercial Inspectors:
Joey Swofford, Chief Commercial Inspector 512-845-4494  jswofford@roundrocktexas.gov
Doug Day 512-845-5947  dday@roundrocktexas.gov
Bryan Fails 512-845-6249  bfails@roundrocktexas.gov
James Shine 512-470-9543  jshine@roundrocktexas.gov
Jimmy Spencer 512-470-9507  jimmy.spencer@roundrocktexas.gov

Residential Inspectors:
Tim Minier, Chief Residential Inspector 512-845-6248  tminier@roundrocktexas.gov
Fernando Abadiano 512-568-7829  fabadiano@roundrocktexas.gov
Paul Moran 512-688-9024  pmoran@roundrocktexas.gov
Alex Rodriguez 512-470-9429  alejandro.rodriguez@roundrocktexas.gov
Marc Schmidt 512-563-9398  mschmidt@roundrocktexas.gov

Civil Inspectors
Matt Krueger, Chief Civil Inspector 512-748-9092  mkruegger@roundrocktexas.gov
Chris Cervenka 512-639-6760  ccervenka@roundrocktexas.gov
George Grondin 512-639-9497  ggrondin@roundrocktexas.gov
Joseph Leon 512-230-4887  rleon@roundrocktexas.gov
Michael Rockett 512-638-2552  mrockett@roundrocktexas.gov

The Williamson County and Cities Health District (WCCHD) also must review plans for any projects involving food service (including restaurants, bars, food trucks, convenience stores, day care facilities, etc.). The food establishment permit application and food establishment plan review application forms are posted on the WCCHD website with application instructions.

Certificates of Appropriateness are Required Prior to Issuance of a Building Permit.

Properties required to undergo historic review are identified with Historic Overlay Zoning. Alterations to all structures or sites with Historic Overlay Zoning require a Certificate of Appropriateness prior to the issuance of a building permit. Historic review applies to all structures on a site, including fences and accessory structures.

Preservation staff are available to discuss projects on all historic-age properties (even those without historic overlay zoning) and can provide technical references that are available to help avoid damage. Contact the Planning and Development Services desk at 512-218-5428 to discuss alterations to a historic property and/or the Certificate of Appropriateness process.

Fees

Fees for trade permits are based on valuation. The following fees are due at time of submittal:

Project valuation
Permit fee
Base fee
Per additional $1,000 or fraction thereof

Up to $2,000

$35

n/a

$2,001 – $15,000

$35 for first $2,000

$7

$15,001 – $50,000

$125 for first $15,000

$4

$50,001 – $100,000

$260 for first $50,000

$3

$100,000 – $500,000

$400 for first $100,000

$2

$500,000 and up

$1200 for first $500,000

$1

Scroll to Top