Building Inspection

About us

The Building Inspections division provides for the health and safety of the community through the development and enforcement of the City’s Building Code, the Code of Ordinances and other related codes. Our team, which boasts 158 years of combined construction experience, is dedicated to professional excellence and customer satisfaction. 

Inspection Services

Mark Remmert
Chief Building Official

Inspection Services

When do I need a building permit?

City of Round Rock building permits are required for work within the city limits and in the Chandler Creek and Vista Oaks Municipal Utility Districts. Any owner or authorized agent who intends to construct, erect, enlarge, alter, repair, move, demolish, install, replace any electrical, gas, mechanical, plumbing or change the occupancy of a building or structure, requires a permit. Still not sure whether your project requires a building permit? Contact our Building Permit Techs at 512-218-5550 or buildingpermits@roundrocktexas.gov.

Notes

Mark Remmert, Chief Building Official 512-218-5550  markr@roundrocktexas.gov
Gary Lawrence, Asst. Building Official 512-845-5946  glawrence@roundrocktexas.gov

Intake staff:  512-218-5550 buildingpermits@roundrocktexas.gov
Isabella Morales 512-218-5551  imorales@roundrocktexas.gov
Jennifer Esparza 512-671-2889 jennifer.esparza@roundrocktexas.gov

Plan Review:
Commercial: Alice Guajardo 512-671-2763  aguajardo@roundrocktexas.gov
Residential: Jorge Scott 512-218-7029  jscott@roundrocktexas.gov

Commercial Inspectors:
Joey Swofford, Chief Commercial Inspector 512-845-4494  jswofford@roundrocktexas.gov
Doug Day 512-845-5947  dday@roundrocktexas.gov
Bryan Fails 512-845-6249  bfails@roundrocktexas.gov
James Shine 512-470-9543  jshine@roundrocktexas.gov
Jimmy Spencer 512-470-9507  jimmy.spencer@roundrocktexas.gov

Residential Inspectors:
Tim Minier, Chief Residential Inspector 512-845-6248  tminier@roundrocktexas.gov
Ferdinand Abadiano 512-568-7829  fabadiano@roundrocktexas.gov
Paul Moran 512-688-9024  pmoran@roundrocktexas.gov
Alex Rodriguez 512-470-9429  alejandro.rodriguez@roundrocktexas.gov
Marc Schmidt 512-563-9398  mschmidt@roundrocktexas.gov

Civil Inspectors
Matt Krueger, Chief Civil Inspector 512-748-9092  mkruegger@roundrocktexas.gov
Chris Cervenka 512-639-6760  ccervenka@roundrocktexas.gov
George Grondin 512-639-9497  ggrondin@roundrocktexas.gov
Michael Rockett 512-638-2552  mrockett@roundrocktexas.gov

All contractors and sub-contractors must register with the City before a permit may be issued.
Electrical, Plumbing and Mechanical contractors must be licensed with the State of Texas.

Codes are available through the International Code Council (http://www.iccsafe.org/).

The Williamson County and Cities Health District (WCCHD) also must review plans for any projects involving food service (including restaurants, bars, food trucks, convenience stores, day care facilities, etc.). The food establishment permit application and food establishment plan review application forms are posted on the WCCHD website with application instructions.

Certificates of Appropriateness are Required Prior to Issuance of a Building Permit.

Properties required to undergo historic review are identified with Historic Overlay Zoning. Alterations to all structures or sites with Historic Overlay Zoning require a Certificate of Appropriateness prior to the issuance of a building permit. Historic review applies to all structures on a site, including fences and accessory structures.

Preservation staff are available to discuss projects on all historic-age properties (even those without historic overlay zoning) and can provide technical references that are available to help avoid damage. Contact the Planning and Development Services desk at 512-218-5428 to discuss alterations to a historic property and/or the Certificate of Appropriateness process.

Utility provider contact info is given on the New Residents Information page.

Scroll to Top

Inspection Services Staff Contacts

Building Officials
Mark Remmert
Chief Building Official
512-218-5550
markr@roundrocktexas.gov

Gary Lawrence
Asst. Building Official
512-845-5946
glawrence@roundrocktexas.gov

Intake Staff
512-218-5550
buildingpermits@roundrocktexas.gov

Jennifer Esparza
512-671-2889
jennifer.esparza@roundrocktexas.gov

Isabella Morales
512-218-5551
imorales@roundrocktexas.gov

Plan Review Commercial
Alice Guajardo
512-671-2763 
aguajardo@roundrocktexas.gov

Plan Review Residential
Jorge Scott
512-218-7029 
jscott@roundrocktexas.gov

Commercial Inspectors
Doug Day
512-845-5947 
dday@roundrocktexas.gov

Bryan Fails
512-845-6249 
bfails@roundrocktexas.gov

James Shine
512-470-9543 
jshine@roundrocktexas.gov

Jimmy Spencer
512-470-9507 
jimmy.spencer@roundrocktexas.gov

Joey Swofford
Chief Commercial Inspector
512-845-4494
jswofford@roundrocktexas.gov

Residential Inspectors
Ferdinand Abadiano
512-568-7829 
fabadiano@roundrocktexas.gov

Tim Minier
Chief Residential Inspector
512-845-6248 
tminier@roundrocktexas.gov

Paul Moran
512-688-9024 
pmoran@roundrocktexas.gov

Alex Rodriguez
512-470-9429 
alejandro.rodriguez@roundrocktexas.gov

Marc Schmidt
512-563-9398 
mschmidt@roundrocktexas.gov

Civil Inspectors
Chris Cervenka
512-639-6760

ccervenka@roundrocktexas.gov

George Grondin
512-639-9497 
ggrondin@roundrocktexas.gov

Matt Krueger
Chief Civil Inspector
512-748-9092
mkruegger@roundrocktexas.gov

Michael Rockett
512-638-2552
mrockett@roundrocktexas.gov