Building Inspection

About us

The City of Round Rock Building Inspection Division is dedicated to professional excellence and customer satisfaction by providing for the health and safety of the community through the development and enforcement of the City’s Building Code, the Code of Ordinances and other related codes. 

 
The Building Inspection Division operates under a one-permit system. The permit becomes null and void if authorized work or construction is not commenced within 6 months. 
 
All contractors and subcontractors applying for a Building Inspections permit must be registered. No registration or annual fee required.  


Inspection Services

James Shine,

James Shine
Building Official

Inspection Services

When do I need a building permit?

City of Round Rock building permits are required for work within the city limits and in the Chandler Creek and Vista Oaks Municipal Utility Districts. Any owner or authorized agent who intends to construct, erect, enlarge, alter, repair, move, demolish, install, replace any electrical, gas, mechanical, plumbing or change the occupancy of a building or structure, requires a permit. Still not sure whether your project requires a building permit? Contact our Development Technicians at 512-218-5550.

Notes

Inspection Services Division Office

512-218-5550 – Office Hours: 7:00 am – 4:00 pm 

James Shine, Building Official 512-218-5550  jshine@roundrocktexas.gov
Gary Lawrence, Asst. Building Official 512-845-5946  glawrence@roundrocktexas.gov

Intake Staff:  512-218-5550 buildingpermits@roundrocktexas.gov
Isabella Morales, Commercial Development Technician 512-218-5551  imorales@roundrocktexas.gov
Jennifer Esparza, Residential Development Technician 512-671-2889 jennifer.esparza@roundrocktexas.gov

Building Plan Examiners:
Commercial: Walter Holbert, 512-671-2763  wholbert@roundrocktexas.gov
Residential: Jorge Scott, 512-218-5550 

Commercial Inspectors:
Bryan Fails, Chief Plumbing Inspector 512-845-6249  bfails@roundrocktexas.gov
Jimmy Spencer, Chief Electrical Inspector 512-470-9507  jimmyspencer@roundrocktexas.gov
Amos Harrison, Chief Structural Inspector 512-639-0218  aharrison@roundrocktexas.gov
Josh Patterson, 737-320-9127 josh.patterson@roundrocktexas.gov
Michael Burt, 737-235-0455 mburt@roundrocktexas.gov

Residential Inspectors:
Alex Rodriguez, Chief Residential Inspector 512-639-3005  arodriguez@roundrocktexas.gov
Ferdinand Abadiano, 512-568-7829  fabadiano@roundrocktexas.gov
Joshua Gonzales, 512-639-3050  jgonzales@roundrocktexas.gov 
Paul Moran, 512-688-9024  pmoran@roundrocktexas.gov 
Lance Musslewhite, 737-340-7822  lmusslewhite@roundrocktexas.gov 

Civil Inspectors
Matt Krueger, Chief Civil Inspector 512-748-9092  mkruegger@roundrocktexas.gov
Chris Cervenka, 512-639-6760  ccervenka@roundrocktexas.gov
Mike Dekeyrel, 512-673-8704  mdekeyrel@roundrocktexas.gov   
George Grondin, 512-639-9497  ggrondin@roundrocktexas.gov
Lane Imken, 512-647-0807  linken@roundrocktexas.gov   
Riley Pekar, 737-349-53396  rpekar@roundrocktexas.gov

Codes are available through the International Code Council (http://www.iccsafe.org/).

The Williamson County and Cities Health District (WCCHD) also must review plans for any projects involving food service (including restaurants, bars, food trucks, convenience stores, day care facilities, etc.). The food establishment permit application and food establishment plan review application forms are posted on the WCCHD website with application instructions.

Certificates of Appropriateness are Required Prior to Issuance of a Building Permit.

Properties required to undergo historic review are identified with Historic Overlay Zoning. Alterations to all structures or sites with Historic Overlay Zoning require a Certificate of Appropriateness prior to the issuance of a building permit. Historic review applies to all structures on a site, including fences and accessory structures.

Preservation staff are available to discuss projects on all historic-age properties (even those without historic overlay zoning) and can provide technical references that are available to help avoid damage. Contact the Planning and Development Services desk at 512-218-5428 to discuss alterations to a historic property and/or the Certificate of Appropriateness process.

Gas (ATMOS) : 1-888-460-3030

Electricity (ONCOR): 1-866-797-4839

Water Utility Billing (CORR): 512-218-5460

 

 

Scroll to Top