New Commercial Construction

ON THIS PAGE

ON THIS PAGE

Projects including Site Development Permit: before Building Inspection can accept an application packet, you must receive your first round of comments from Planning & Development.

Include in your submittal

Bring or send submittals to the Building Inspections counter at 301 W. Bagdad Ave. Suite 100, Round Rock, Texas 78664. Contact Building Inspections staff at 512-218-5550 or buildingpermits@roundrocktexas.gov if you have any questions.

  • Building Permit application (pdf) including description of work to be performed
  • Contractor Information Sheets (pdf) for general contractor and subcontractors. Electrical, plumbing  and mechanical contractors must be licensed with the State of Texas.
    Not required with submittal but must be received before the permit can be released.
  • 2015 ComCheck 
  • Fees Worksheet (see below) and fee payment (checks only)
  • Roadway Impact Fee (checks only)
  • One complete set of construction plans – paper (18×24 or 24×36)
  • One complete set of construction plans – pdf format
Notes:
  • Buildings over 5,000 sf: plans must have an engineer’s stamp and signature
  • For commercial projects valued over $50,000 a Texas Department of License and Regulation (TDLR) project number is required. Contact the TDLR Architectural Barriers Section at 1-877-278-0999 for registry information. 

Fees worksheet

Building Official Mark Remmert calculates permit fees and will provide you a fees worksheet via email. Please submit the following information to  markr@roundrocktexas.gov:

  • Name, phone and email of project POC (person of contact).
  • Project name
  • Structure square footage
  • Acreage of site
  • Size and number of water meters

Roadway impact fees

The City Council approved a Roadway Impact Fee ordinance that took effect on Jan. 1, 2020. The fee is being phased in over time according to when the project’s final plat is issued. Refer to the Roadway Impact Fee page for fee calculations and offsets.

Review process

Review time varies depending on the complexity of the project and the completeness of the submittal.  The average turnaround time from submittal to permit is currently 6-8 weeks for new commercial construction. We do not offer expedited review service. There is no separate review fee in addition to the permit fee.

After your application is received it will be distributed to all applicable review staff. The reviewers will email their comments directly to the primary contact identified on the application (usually the architect). Responses should be emailed back to the reviewer. 

When all comments have been addressed the permit will be issued and staff will call the applicant to pick up the permit and redlines at the Inspections Services counter. Instructions for using the online eTRAKIT will be included with the permit.

A Pre-construction meeting is required at the time of permit pickup.

The Certificate of Occupancy will be issued after the project passes the final inspection, and permanent power will be released to TXU Electric Delivery and Atmos Energy.

Inspection process

  • Instructions for scheduling inspections using eTRAKIT will be included with the building permit. Inspections must be requested before 4 p.m. for next business day.
  • Inspections are conducted Monday through Friday, from 7:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.
  • Utility authorizations will be released as the final utility inspections are completed.

Certificate of Occupancy

The Certificate of Occupancy will be issued once the project passes a fire final, all MEP finals and a final building inspection.

Job trailer

A permit is not required unless the job trailer will need electrical or plumbing. A master license holder can apply for the permit needed. Permit fee is based on valuation.

Notes

Mark Remmert, Chief Building Official 512-218-5550  markr@roundrocktexas.gov
Gary Lawrence, Asst. Building Official 512-845-5946  glawrence@roundrocktexas.gov

Intake staff:  512-218-5550 buildingpermits@roundrocktexas.gov
Isabella Morales 512-218-5551  imorales@roundrocktexas.gov
Jennifer Esparza 512-671-2889 jennifer.esparza@roundrocktexas.gov

Plan Review:
Commercial: Alice Guajardo 512-671-2763  aguajardo@roundrocktexas.gov
Residential: Jorge Scott 512-218-7029  jscott@roundrocktexas.gov

Commercial Inspectors:
Joey Swofford, Chief Commercial Inspector 512-845-4494  jswofford@roundrocktexas.gov
Doug Day 512-845-5947  dday@roundrocktexas.gov
Bryan Fails 512-845-6249  bfails@roundrocktexas.gov
James Shine 512-470-9543  jshine@roundrocktexas.gov
Jimmy Spencer 512-470-9507  jimmy.spencer@roundrocktexas.gov

Residential Inspectors:
Tim Minier, Chief Residential Inspector 512-845-6248  tminier@roundrocktexas.gov
Fernando Abadiano 512-568-7829  fabadiano@roundrocktexas.gov
Paul Moran 512-688-9024  pmoran@roundrocktexas.gov
Alex Rodriguez 512-470-9429  alejandro.rodriguez@roundrocktexas.gov
Marc Schmidt 512-563-9398  mschmidt@roundrocktexas.gov

Civil Inspectors
Matt Krueger, Chief Civil Inspector 512-748-9092  mkruegger@roundrocktexas.gov
Chris Cervenka 512-639-6760  ccervenka@roundrocktexas.gov
George Grondin 512-639-9497  ggrondin@roundrocktexas.gov
Joseph Leon 512-230-4887  rleon@roundrocktexas.gov
Michael Rockett 512-638-2552  mrockett@roundrocktexas.gov

The Williamson County and Cities Health District (WCCHD) also must review plans for any projects involving food service (including restaurants, bars, food trucks, convenience stores, day care facilities, etc.). The food establishment permit application and food establishment plan review application forms are posted on the WCCHD website with application instructions.

Refer to the Sign Permits page for application information. Bring/send sign permit applications to the Building Inspections window or email to buildingpermits@roundrocktexas.gov.

Scroll to Top